List of Scotch Courts

List of Scotch Courts in United Kingdom

Scotch Courts in the XIX Century

  • The Court of Session was the supreme civil court of Scotland. There were two divisions; the first presided over by the Lord-President, the second by the Lord Justice-Clerk. Besides these two, there were eleven Lords Ordinary, making thirteen judges.
  • Before the Union, there was a Court of Exchequer, now merged in the Court of Session. The judges of the Court of Session, having the power formerly exercised by the Commissioners of Teinds (Tithes), sit later also as the Teind Court.
  • The Teind Court had jurisdiction of parish matters, valuations and sales of teinds, etc. An appeal did lie from this court, as also from the Court of Session, to the House of Lords.
  • The Justiciary Court was the supreme criminal court, and was composed of five Lords of Session, with the Lord-President or Justice-Clerk as President. There were three circuits of the judges of this court; and appeal did lie to the House of Lords.
  • The Sheriff’s Courts were county courts of large civil and criminal jurisdiction, and formerly proceeded without a jury.
  • Bailie’s courts in burghs.
  • Justice of the Peace courts.
  • The High Court of Admiralty and Commissary Court or Consistorial Court were in the late XIX Century obsolete.

(Main source: read A concise law dictionary of words, phrases and maxims.)

For a detailed description of historical courts, see Holdsworth’s “History of English Law” vol. I.

Other Lists of Courts

List of English Courts in this Encyclopedia
List of Irish Courts in this Encyclopedia
List of Scotch Courts in this Encyclopedia
List of European Courts in the European Encyclopedia
List of American Courts
List of Asian Courts in the Asia Encyclopedia
List of Australian Courts in the Australian Encyclopedia
List of Canadian Courts in the Canada Encyclopedia
List of African Courts in the Africa Encyclopedia
List of Latin American Courts (in Spanish)



, ,



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *